The Watchtower and the Ruins of the Castle, Yunquera

Ver galería

During the Spanish War of Independence (1808–1814), Yunquera saw clashes with French troops between October 1811 and August 1812. The tower was built in early 1812, and, according to research conducted by Juan Bardón Garcés, its purpose was to serve as a warehouse for provisions and supplies, as a refuge for Spanish troops, and as a defense for the town, as well as a building to safeguard money, documents, and other belongings of the Territorial Commission during the conflict. After the French withdrew, General Ballesteros used it as barracks and a military headquarters.

Yunquera also had a citadel during the Al-Andalus period (possibly developed from a hisn dating back to the emirate era), on the site now occupied by the Parish Church of Nuestra Señora de la Encarnación and in other streets and areas surrounding the town’s historic center, parts of whose structures are integrated into the urban fabric.

Information

  • Address

    Calle Castillo n38, Yunquera

  • Tourist value

    High

  • Accessibility / Visitability

    Sign Up / Yes (free)

  • Municipality

    Yunquera

Discover us on social media

@sierradelasnieves.mm
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.